Looking up

Once again a promising professional sports prospect has opted instead to answer a different call:

Grant Desme, a 23-year-old minor league outfielder in Oakland’s system, is retiring from baseball to follow a calling into the Catholic priesthood.

…this isn’t a case of a struggling player going through an early-life crisis. Desme was ranked the A’s eighth-best prospect by Baseball America after hitting .288 with 31 home runs and 89 RBIs in A ball in 2009 and he was just named MVP of the Arizona Fall League.

Said Desme on a Friday afternoon conference call:

“I’m doing well in baseball. But I had to get down to the bottom of things, to what was good in my life, what I wanted to do with my life. Baseball is a good thing, but that felt selfish of me when I felt that God was calling me more. It took awhile to trust that and open up to it and aim full steam toward him … I love the game, but I’m going to aspire to higher things.”

“…everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or fields for my sake will receive a hundred times as much and will inherit eternal life. But many who are first will be last, and many who are last will be first.” – Matthew 19:29-30


(P.S. Geaux Saints!)

Leave a Reply

